Manual therapy

Rheumatische Erkranknung der Gelenke
Manual therapy based on the Cyriax, DGMM and Dorn-Hock methods
Mainly used in the orthopaedic and traumatology sectors, but also indispensable in the treatment of medical and neurological disorders. The method enables functional diagnostics and the treatment of dysfunctions such as pain, hypo- and hypermobility, and of soft-tissue lesions affecting the locomotor system. Its aim is to maintain or re-establish normal function in the joints and all other functionally or structurally related locomotor tissue.

Joint disorders
arising from arthralgia as a result of referred articular pain or indiscernible changes to joints.

Arthritis
following an injury involving damage to the joint capsule, sprain, luxation or subluxation.

Arthritis
following bacterial infection of joint; inflammatory rheumatic disorders; arthrosis; congenital joint deformities; metabolically-caused joint diseases such as gout and haemophilia; neoplastic arthropathies.

Joint capsular disorders
Typical pattern of restricted movement – the so-called "capsular pattern" or capsular sign – which reveals a different pattern of restricted movement in every joint. They occur in joints that are stabilized by muscular control. Joints that are sealed and supported solely by a capsule and ligaments do not exhibit a capsular pattern. If a capsular pattern should, however, be apparent, this indicates that the articular capsule is inflamed as in arthritis or arthrosis.

Ligament disorders
may arise when there is:
  • acute ligamental injury, such as over-extension, partial rupture and total rupture;
  • chronic injury and pain following over-exertion of joint, but in which the joint is functionally stable; or
  • functional instability of joint, e.g. in a partially restored total rupture.
  • Bursitis
Physiotherapy must not be used to attempt treatment of a traumatic, infectious or tumour-related inflammation of a bursa.

"Bursitis calcarea"
Deposition of calcareous matter through the bursa into the rotator cuff, only very occasionally in the bursa itself.

Bandscheibenvorfall
Disorders of the vertebral discs
Protrusion of the fibrous ring (Anulus fibrosus). Develops gradually, pain is localised. No loss of neurological function, but patient typically adopts a temporary posture to relieve discomfort.

Prolapse:
Disc no longer intact, e.g. due to rupturing of the anulus fibrosus and protrusion of the pulpy core. Loss of neurological function, reduced sensitivity and loss of strength, reflex response lower (hyporeflexia). Onset is sudden. Symptoms include parasthaesia and referred pain. Patient adopts a permanent relieving posture.

Disorders of the facet joints:
Non-specific pain caused by impeded movement of vertebral joints. The impediment is due to damage to the vertebral discs, which reduces the inter-disc spacing and increases the compressive loading on the vertebral joints.

Referred pain in dermatome:
Referred pain (pain felt at some distance from its cause) can result from disorders of the:
  • Joints (capsules, ligaments, bones)
  • tendomyotic system (tendon, tendon insertion, muscle-tendon junction, muscle belly)
  • internal organs.
When treating disorders of the locomotor system, the aim is to clearly identify the affected areas. This requires that the affected areas be distinguished clearly from those that could give rise to the same clinical characteristics.

<< Back

Manuelle Therapie

Rheumatische Erkranknung der Gelenke
Das Konzept der Manuellen Therapie nach Cyriax, DGMM, Dorn - Hock
kommt schwerpunktmäßig im orthopäd.- traumatologischen Bereich zum Einsatz, ist aber auch bei der Behandlung von internistischen sowie neurologischen Erkrankungen unentbehrlich. Es ist eine Methode zur funktionellen Diagnostik und Behandlung von Dysfunktionen, wie Schmerz, Hypo- oder Hypermobilität und Weichteilaffektionen am Bewegungsapparat, mit dem Ziel des Erhalts oder Wiederherstellung normaler Funktionen in Gelenken und aller funktionell und strukturell verbundenen Gewebe des gesamten Bewegungsapparates.

Störung der Gelenke
durch Gelenkschmerzen aufgrund von Schmerzausstrahlungen oder nicht erkennbaren Gelenkveränderungen.

Traumatisch
ausgelöste Arthritis durch Gelenkkapselschädigung, Verstauchung sowie Luxation und Subluxation.

Nichttraumatisch
Arthritis in Folge von Infektionen, entzündlichen rheumatischen Erkrankungen, Arthrose, angeborenen Gelenkdeformitäten, stoffwechselbedingten Gelenkerkrankungen wie Gicht, Bluterkrankheit; neoplastische Arthropathien.

Störung der Kapsel
Typische Bewegungseinschränkung beim sogenannten "Kapselmuster" oder kapsulärer Zeichen, die in jedem Gelenk ein anderes Muster der Bewegungseinschränkung aufweist. Sie treten auf bei Gelenken, die durch Muskelführung stabilisiert werden. Gelenke, die ausschließlich durch Kapsel und Bänder gesichert werden, zeigen keine Kapselmuster. Wird aber ein Kapselmuster festgestellt, bedeutet dies das Zugrundeliegen einer Kapselreizung, wie z. B. Arthritis, Arthrose.

Störung der Bänder
"Durch akute traumatische Bandverletzungen, wie Überdehnung, Teilruptur, Totalruptur. "Bei chronischer Verletzung und Schmerzen bei Überlastung aber funktioneller Stabilität. "Bei funktioneller Instabilität wie z. B. bei nicht wiederhergestellter Totalruptur.

Störung der Schleimbeutel (Bursitis)
Traumatische, infektiöse oder tumorbedingte Schleimbeutelentzündung ist kein Therapiegebiet der Krankengymnastik.
Bursitis calcarea Ablagerung von Verkalkung durch die Bursa in die Rotatorenmanschette, nur ganz selten in der Bursa selbst.

Bandscheibenvorfall
Störung der Bandscheiben
Protrusion: Vorwölbung der Ringfasern. Der Beginn ist schleichend und die Schmerzen sind lokal begrenzt. Es liegen keine neurologischen Ausfälle vor, aber eine typische temporäre Schonhaltung.
Prolaps: Nicht intakte, z.B. gesprengte Ringfasern und Vorwölbung des Gallertkerns mit neurologischen Ausfällen, Sensibilitäts- und Kraftminderung, Reflexabschwächung. Die Beschwerden, wie Parästhesien und Schmerzen sind ausstrahlend und der Beginn ist plötzlich. Es besteht eine permanente Schonhaltung.

Störung der Facetten Gelenke
Durch Blockierungen der Wirbelgelenke verursachte diffuse Schmerzen, bedingt durch Höhenverlust aufgrund von Schädigung der Bandscheiben mit der Folge einer erhöhten Druckbelastung und unkontrollierten Bewegungen in den Wirbelgelenken.

Reizprojektion in die Dermatome
Projektion von Reizen ( referred pain) sind Störungen:
  • Der Gelenke ( Kapsel, Bänder, Knochen ).
  • Des tendomyotischen Systems ( Sehnen, Sehnenansatz, Muskelübergang, Muskelbauch).
  • Der inneren Organe.
Ziel ist, bei Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates die betroffenen Strukturen einwandfrei zu identifizieren. Dies erfordert die Abgrenzung der betroffenen Strukturen von allen anderen, die das gleiche Beschwerdebild verursachen könnten. Die Behandlung basiert auf den so gewonnenen Erkenntnissen über die geschädigten Strukturen.

<< Zurück